I Will Get Used To Your Absence

And I will, likewise, get used to your absence.

Thought Catalog

ShutterstockShutterstock

It’s like the vibrating hum emanating from a tuning fork. Steady. Consistent, but not without end. Heightened senses brought about emotions ranging from one end of the spectrum to the other. Now, I feel just like a shaken soda bottle, waiting to be opened to let the pressure out.

You came out of nowhere. Unexpected is the word, and I stepped into it, into you, warily. Fearfully. You responded with reassurances that could only be described as flowery, until my wariness dissipated, and changed to willingness. It was a struggle at first; after all, that initial fear was not unfounded. But how does one keep from falling in the face of such charm?

No matter.

I fell for you anyway.

You were, at once, the best inspiration and the worst distraction. I wanted to know everything there was to know about you, but discovered my guard was still up…

View original post 494 more words

Leave a Reply

