Why 2013 Was A Great Year

It took 365 days of questionable mornings just to get through this year. And just like anyone else, I think that 2013 just went by with the wind. It was so fast I’m not sure if I even had time to digest everything that happened this year. It was a roller coaster ride this year. I had my share of highs and lows. It wasn’t perfect but I guess I could say that this year was the year I was more conscious of things I had to pursue. It was a year of firsts with a lot of hits and misses of course. It wasn’t the best but it definitely is a year I’d remember for the rest of my life.

I traveled alone for the first time this year in one of the countries solo female travelers would skip as their first – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It was an impulsive decision back in 2012 but what it taught me in 2013 was that although there are so many places in this world to be discovered, nothing beats getting to discover yourself in a city far away from home. Nothing beats alone time and the feeling of independence. Also, nothing beats being able to meet friends like Ate Ajing and Kuya Armand, who gladly took me around KL. My Malaysia trip, although brief and a whole lot of scary, gave me new perspectives I would take with me the next time I impulsively decide on traveling alone.

Page 1

This year I also got to cross out a lot of places to visit I initially listed at the start of the year. I went to Hong Kong twice, to Malaysia of course, to Cagayan, Ilocos, Camarines Norte, Palawan, Cebu, Davao, Tagaytay and Baguio. This year I traveled and although my bank account cried, my human self rejoiced over the fact that I’ve gained much more experience.

page 2

I’ve been through a battle this year too. It was difficult but I learned to get past it. It is my greatest wish to never experience this battle ever again but I believe it’s inevitable. Life was still good to me and it rewarded me with a fleeting feeling I could only describe to one friend or two. Thank you!

It was also about rekindling relationships with good friends this year. I realized that even though my friends and have gone separate ways, being busy is never an excuse to make time to catch up with them. A great year is nothing without great friends.

page 3

 

Of course, a great year is nothing without great family. This year, I lost my Dad. The first few days and weeks knowing that I didn’t get to say goodbye to him and tell him that he’s forgiven is probably the toughest burden I’d have to carry for the rest of my life. But I was surrounded with great family who reminded me that there was no one at fault and what is important is I know in my heart that all the problems caused in the past are mere bad memories now and that there was a space in my heart for forgiveness. 2013 was a great year for forgiveness.

page 4

In 2014, I only have two goals. One is to finally finally be able to push myself to apply for grad school and another to go to more local destinations. I couldn’t think of anything else at the moment but it’ll add up in the days to come.

Cheers to a great year, everyone. Have a blessed 2014!

Leave a Reply

