At Asia’s World City

Everyone who knows me knows that I am in love with Hong Kong, and that is the one reason why I keep coming back. A friend of mine even asked me if I had a house in Hong Kong, which made me smile by the way, because how I wish I had one so that I could save on accommodations. The lure of promo fares (ahem, Cebu Pacific) tempted me to book that ticket to Asia’s World City last May 2013. It was my third time, and I was still excited.Β When you keep coming back to a place, everything seems too familiar. But the familiarity of Hong Kong is what makes it special for me. It’s a love affair I wouldn’t exchange for anyone. Or, well. Maybe.

IMG_2754

I booked for a five-day trip and we departed from the Diosdado Macapagal Airport in Clark, Pampanga. After two hours, we arrived in Hong Kong a little before noon. I initially wanted to have lunch at the Hong Kong International Airport, but where’s the authenticity in that? Hehe. Though hungry, we made our way to the E11 bus stop to our hotel in Wan Chai, Hong Kong Island. It’s a 20-minute ride from the HKIA to the central districts and about a five-minute walk from the bus stop to our hotel.

Fotor0803120511

Wan Chai is a great place! It’s where you can find Hong Kong’s bar scene and is also one of HK’s red light districts. Our hotel, King’s Pillow Hotel, is a quaint hotel at the stretch of Lockhart Road. I’d recommend it for budget travelers like us who want cheap hotel rates without sacrificing your comfort. It’s a plus that there are Filipino helpers too so it doesn’t feel like you’re in a Chinese city at all.

Fotor0803122237

For our first day, we went to Sham Shui Po and Tsim Sha Tsui at the Kowloon side of HK. You see, you can find all the street food you want in these places. I was in heaven.

Fotor080311164IMG_2104

I also just discovered that there are also great clothing finds in the Sham Shui Po area, particularly at the Apliu Street Flea Market. It’s a whole line of clothing shops and I think shoppers will not only have fun, but they will also get tired just roaming around. We went to Tsim Sha Tsui after because we were planning to watch the Symphony of Lights at 8pm, but it was drizzling. It wouldn’t be as fun looking at the harbour so we decided to just go back to our hotel to rest.

IMG_2095

For our second day, we kids (at heart) separated ourselves from the group to have some kiddie time at Hong Kong Disneyland. It was my first time in HK Disney because my previous trips were spent in Ocean Park, where I almost kill myself with rides like the Abyss and Hair Raiser. My favorite parts were the Space Mountain and the Flights of Fantasy Parade. The song got stuck in my head for days I kept on singing it. It was such a feel good song (cue: It’s a sky high celebration, so c’mon c’mon…) and it makes you feel like a total kid.

IMG_2188 Fotor0803120157IMG_2179Fotor080312345

We went to Mong Kok afterwards to eat, uhm street food again and visit the Temple Street night market. It felt different when we were roaming around MK without the adults who would usually ask for directions. Made us feel really independent. Great indeed!

IMG_2432

We went to Macau on our third day, but that’ll be a separate post. Hehe. On our last full day, we dedicated it to shopping and visiting the Sky Terrace at the Peak! I love visiting HK when it’s still cold, a welcome respite from the harsh weather in Manila. We went to the Peak Tram Terminus to ride the tram and opted to take the bus back down to the central district. While on top, I felt really overwhelmed just taking in the views. I was really thankful for another chance to visit. It was surreal. I bet no one can understand how happy I am when I am in Hong Kong. It’s really a love affair, I tell you. (Kulang na lang boyfriend. HAHA.) And this, this emotional thing, you feel it during your last day in a country you love! (Also because, you are going back to reality the next day: WORK.)

IMG_2638Fotor0803124730 IMG_2651

I haven’t visited a lot of places in Hong Kong like Sha Tin, Sai Kung and the famous buddha so I plan to go back. And that plan? It’s gonna happen! This time, I’m going with my friends and that is this NOVEMBER! All I’m praying for now is for the Lord to financially bless me. But keeping that aside, I cannot wait for another date with you Hong Kong! I am gonna kiss you when I step foot on your concrete roads! Damn it! See you really really soon!

IMG_2796

Until next time.

Kaye

Leave a Reply

